IASS Tsuboi Award

24.08.2021, The Yoshikatsu Tsuboi Award for the best journal paper published in the journal of the International Association of Shell and Spatial Structures IASS was awarded to Christopher Robeller and Niklas von Haaren and their paper entitled “Recycleshell: Wood-only Shell Structures Made From Cross-Laminated Timber (CLT) Production Waste”. We greatly thank the selection committee, to the reviewers and their comments, and to the entire project team, especially Umweltministerium RLP, CLTech Hightech Holzbau, Pirmin Jung Deutschland, Sepp Schilcher, Hans Hundegger AG, Hannsjörg Pohlmeyer, Werner Theis und Eckhard Vogel. We wish we could have been at the conference in Surrey.

About the Award: The Tsuboi Award was established in 1991 with the help of a donation from the late Mrs. Kazuko Tsuboi.  This award honors the memory of Professor Yoshikatsu Tsuboi (Japan, 1907-1990), former President and Honorary Member of the IASS, and his outstanding contributions to structural and architectural design.

About the IASS: The International Association for Shell and Spatial Structures (IASS), founded by Eduardo Torroja in 1959, is a non-profit organization. It has as its goal the achievement of further progress through an interchange of ideas among all those interested in lightweight structural systems such as lattice, tension, membrane, and shell structures, in particular architects, engineers,  builders and academics.

Publication: Robeller, C., & Von Haaren, N. (2020). Recycleshell: Wood-only Shell Structures Made From Cross-Laminated Timber (CLT) Production Waste. Journal of the International Association for Shell and Spatial Structures, 61(2), 125-139. Fulltext Publication

More Information:

Video on LinkedIn
Article in mikado Holzbaumagazin 11/2019 (in German)
Interview with DBZ Deutsche BauZeitschrift 11/2019 “Holz” (in German)